Ceres Fruit Growers awards top producers

Despite the impact of Covid-19, South Africa’s apple and pear growers have had a good year with one of the biggest harvests in history.

The greater Ceres region includes the Warm-Bokkeveld, the Witzenberg Valley, the Koue Bokkeveld and Bo-Swaarmoed regions and Ceres Fruit Growers (CFG), wholly owned by its growers, is one of the larger fruit packers in the area.

At an event Friday, November 6, 2020, trophies were awarded to the top producers in different categories.

In his welcome, grower Calla du Toit, who is also Procurement Manager at Tru-Cape Fruit Marketing, the largest exporter of South African apples and pears, said the industry had a lot to be grateful for and despite the many challenges Covid presented right in the middle of the harvest, fruit was picked, packed and stored and CFG successfully put protections in place to limit the pandemic’s spread.

CFG Manager Producers Services Frederik Odendaal congratulated the growers on their excellent results.

Winning the Izak Hanekom Trophy for excellence with Abate Fetel pears was Welgemeen. The Umzumaai Trophy for excellence with Bon Chretien-type pears went to Aurora. The Culdevco trophy for the pear variety Cheeky was awarded to Agterfontein.

The Goosen Trophy for the best Forelle pears was awarded to Eselfontein while the Morceaux Trophy for Packham’s Triumph pears went to Aurora as did the Dennekruin Trophy for the best Rosemarie pears. The Bronaar Trophy for Early Red One apples went to Wakkerstroom. The Tru-Cape Trophy for the best Fuji-types went to Wilhelm De Kock’s De Eiken while the Lakenvlei Trophy for Golden Delicious apples went to Welgemeen. For excellence in producing Kanzi apples, Wakkerstroom was awarded the GKE Trophy.

The Laastedrif Trophy for Mahana Red apples went to Wakkerstroom. The Top Fruit Trophy for the best Pink Lady apples went to Witzenberg Properties’ Dennekruin.

The APL Trophy for Panorama Golden apples went to De Eiken while the Esperanto Trophy for Rosy Glow was awarded to Wakkerstroom. The Die Eike Trophy for Royal Gala Red was awarded to Dennekruin. The RM Zulch Trophy for Royal Beaut went to Dennekruin. 

The trophy for the highest average income per hectare for pears went to Aurora and the trophy for the highest average income per hectare for apples to Wakkerstroom. The trophy for the most accurate harvest forecast was awarded to Aurora.

The Chairman’s Trophy for Grand Champion 2020 went to RJF Boerdery Wakkerstroom. Managing Director Francois Malan presented the trophies with his congratulations.

error: Content is protected !!
Farmers Review Africa
Farmers Review Africa